At Modern Luxury, connection and community define who we are. We use cookies to improve the Modern Luxury experience - to personalize content and ads, to provide social media features and to analyze our traffic. We also may share information about your use of our site with our social media, advertising and analytics partners. We take your privacy seriously and want you to be aware that we have recently made changes to our Privacy Policy, which can be found here.

I AGREE
    

A Vegan-Friendly New Years

Lani Conway | December 31, 2012 | Story Wine and Spirits

Before you pop open that bottle of sparking wine and ring in the New Years in a tipsy haze, think about this: Not all wines are vegan. “People are surprised to learn that most wines aren’t vegan-friendly,” says Eileen Crane, winemaker at Domaine Carneros in Napa.

Although wine is derived from grapes, Crane explains, animal-based ingredients are usually introduced into the wine during a process called fining. Here, gelatin, egg whites, isinglass (fish swim bladder), or fish oil, among others, are used to remove grape skins, pips, yeast from the fermentation process, and other impurities in order to render the wine less cloudy, more presentable and tasty.

So how does one make vegan-friendly wine? Crane uses Clarifiant S, or sodium bentonite, a clay-based product with no animal additives in the fining process. Other additives could include limestone, kaolin clay, plant casein, or silica gel. For a list of other local and international producers of vegan wines, check out Barnivore’s useful list. Pair with one of your favorite vegan-friendly snacks, and voilĂ . Vegans, rejoice.

Happy New Years!



Tags:

Photography by: